Progress NOT Perfection!

22-strive-for-progress-not-perfection.jpg

Happy Monday! (I frantically type, hoping to get this post published before the clock strikes 12 and I have to admit defeat, that it is finally Tuesday…)

I am definitely having one of those weeks people. I cannot seem to get out of my own way, which is extremely frustrating to someone who is normally very productive.

As this morning dawned it looked promising, a bright sunny day, I did not go to school, a good nights rest, my coffee was perfect…yet…every single time I sat down to do something, it went awry. My camera was out of batteries, my sister needed ride from school, my sewing machine named, etc.

The end of last week was a scramble for me as well and resulted in me not posting on my blog or my blog Instagram for 4 days. I guess that counts as my first real mental block of 2017. Atlas I made it about a month in before that happened, right? Let’s not make this a habit!

Every Sunday night I sit down, and I write a to do list for the next day. The to do list is always very ambitious but the idea of having a whole new week ahead of me is too enticing to be entirely practical. The list usually amounts to 15 tasks, with 9 being very easy and simple (such as folding laundry, running a few errands), 3 are medium level tasks or tasks I will have to focus for (writing blog posts, editing videos, taking photos, sewing), and there’s inevitably about 3 tasks that will spill into Tuesday. This week however, I am looking at more than half my to do list for Monday spilling into my Tuesday.

Progress not perfection. Progress not perfection. Progress not perfection. I chant this to myself; it was basically my anthem for the day. Although I was definitely les productive then I would have liked, I completed a few tasks from my list. Sometimes we have off days. To have error is to be human. I’m trying to remember that just because I had a bad day (or 4), it does not have to set the tone for my Tuesday, or the rest of my week for that matter.

Today I did what I could, and tomorrow I will hopefully be more inspired, and more focused on task. Forcing myself to write this post, no matter how late in the day it is, represents me realigning and recommitting to my goals of staying balanced and determined in 2017.

One little off day will not take away from all I have accomplished and all the plans I have to accomplish.

Progress not perfection people!!! Even the smallest progress is better than none at all.

With love,

Anna B

Where else is RAF?

Instagram

Facebook

Youtube 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

