Why You Should Work Out


Yes, I know, working out is uncomfortable, it’s time consuming, you’re out of shape and it will be embarrassing…but let me tell you my reasoning for starting to work out again.

I’m not working out to lose weight or train for a big 5k, I’m beginning to work out again to make myself feel better. When you work out it increases the amount of endorphins in your brain. As a result, you’ll end up having more energy. Personally I also find working out removes any “creative blocks” and helps clear my mind to have more ideas. 

While weight wise and body wise I’m very happy with myself, starting to work out showed me how out of shape I’ve become. I ran a mile to start and it took me about 10 minutes, an embarrassing amount of time especially considering how big of a soccer player and track runner I was just a year or two ago. After the run I did a short abs and glute workout. The next day I was sore but I felt somewhat accomplished. 

The biggest take away you should remember when going back to working out are:

1. You’re doing it just for yourself. Don’t motivate yourself with other people’s opinions.

2. Starting is the hardest part, and even if you run a 30 minute mile that will still be better then the day before where you did nothing.

3. Eat a healthier more balanced diet to refuel yourself.

With love,

Anna B 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

