September’s Circus

September is here! (I know, I know it’s been here for about a week but this should explain why I’m a tad tardy with this post…)

Although for someone established in a career, September may not represent anything then Fall, to me it represents a lot more. This year is my final school year, and this September 7th marked my last first day. With school starting, running this blog, managing my store, and an army of other activities and deadlines (hello colleges); September quite literally feels like I am a side show in lives circus. I think for many people the change of seasons represents a big change of pace in their lives. DO you feel like a circus clown trying to manage everything?

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

When I opened my planner in September, it was only suiting that September’s cover page featured various circus acts seeming to embody my very thoughts. It can be very easy to get overwhelmed when your schedule changes whether it be for school or for a new job, a promotion, or whatever other changes life throws in our paths. The most important aspect is not to get overwhelmed. More then just the virus scenes however, the cover page also featured a very good question, “What’s stopping you?”

For me, it was my complete disorganization which made all tasks seem even harder.

unnamed-13.jpg

Using my lovely planner (found here), I spend about one hour to half an hour every two weeks, usually on a lazy Sunday morning detailing in my schedule. I take this a step further to color code things and highlight areas of my life. I fill out birthdays and big events on the calendar pages and then use the day to day sections for details. I always leave room in the sections to pencil in new events as dates arrive. Sticking true to these lists can be hard, but maintaing a schedule will ease your stress and allow your subconscious to rest easier at night.

Another aspect to incorporate into writing out your schedule could be to break down a large project into mini deadlines. (By this date I will have part A done, by the next date I will have part B done and so on and so forth.) This can make looming deadlines a lot more manageable.

What is standing in your way of having a productive fall season? Let’s talk solutions in the comments 🙂

With love,

Anna B

Find RAF’s other links here!

Store

Instagram

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Sandy Butler

    Great blog this week. I love the colorful, event filled planner idea. I just want to caution from my personal experience. Years ago, I lived in my planner(s!). BD (before digital) and at the tail end of my “planner years” I carried on me three different books containing details on my worklife, personal life and the third one held details on a part time business. Today, I use my google calendar for business and keep a daily task list in it.
    I do like the birthday reminder idea, because I keep a separate list and oftentimes forget to refer back to it, therefore sending belated wishes to family and close friends:(
    Ah, the key is to find the balance of organizing and living life!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. runandfollow

      Something about writing in the planner is so satisfying to me and I find it easier to remember things when I write them down! Birthdays and important dates are always so hard to remember but I know for me it’s just the thought that counts whether a it’s belated or not ❤️❤️❤️

      Like

Leave a Reply

