GovBall 2016: Day 1

IMG_1390.jpeg

Wearing: Jumpsuit (Similar) | Fannie Pack (Similar) | Necklace | Boots

Friday, June 3 marked the kick off of GovBall 2016. It was an overcast day with sporadic sun showers and cloudy skies, but I didn’t let that dampen my spirt. I suited up in a comfy denim jumpsuit with a deep v and a zipper running down the length of the front. This trendy romper came with a denim tie belt but in the spirit of practicality I slipped a pleather and suede fringe fanny pack through the belt loops instead.

Fanny packs are perfect for music festivals because they leave you hands free, and no one can unzipper them without you noticing. In mine I kept a portable charger, my phone, a money clip, and the numerous flash tattoos and little hand outs vendors at Govball provided. I tucked a bandanna in the belt too, a perfect square to sit on as well as another dimension to the outfit. My accessories are all from the ASOS sales page including a modified Aztec print choker and numerous chunky rings with turquoise stone accents.

Wet hair is never a fun experience and in preparation for the showers later in the afternoon I wore my hair in two little space buns.

IMG_0044.JPG

Finally on my feet I secured a music festival must have: practical shoes!!! I have expressed this in my Music Festival Advice post and I can not emphasize how much having practical foot wear will make your experience from mosh pitting in crowds to walking through muddy fields much more enjoyable.

The food of the day such as my first amaaazzzzing Ramen burger, a sushi burrito, and various drinks from Perrier and Vitamin Water were delicious. However, despite all the attractions, artwork, food booths and trucks the best part of Govball was the phenomenal performers.

IMG_0437.JPG

Although all the performances I saw were impressive, my favorites of the day were French singer Christine and the Queens who put on an entertaining dance and singing performance, and Of Monsters and Men an Indie band with such a unique feel good sound and easy to sing along to choruses. Before the festival I had been a passive fan of Matt and Kim but their set absolutely blew me away with its energizing mix of sexual humor, and phenomenal set list. To close out my Friday night I chose to see the Strokes, a favorite of mine. Among their set list they played crowd pleasers such as Someday and Reptila. The night finally wound down around 11:30 with an impressize display of fireworks over the main stage.

Stay tuned for my Saturday favorites, a playlist to memorialize the death of Sunday due to weather, and more advice,

Keep jammin’

Anna-Jean

Check out my other Govball pics on Instagram!!!

PS: I also have an Instagram for da blog if you want strictly fashionable blog related updates!

Leave a Reply

