GovBall Review + Gypsy Style

FullSizeRender

This Saturday, as some of you may know I went to the music festival Governor’s Ball, at Randell’s Island off of Manhattan. I jammed out to musicians such as Holy Child, Charlotte OC, Kate Tempest, Marina and the Diamonds, and Flume, along with a number of other very talented artists. All these artists were high energy and put on amazing performances.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Dress (similar) \ Bralette \ Socks\ Boots (similar) \ Hat (similar) \ Bracelet \ Coin Bracelet \ Necklace (handmade)

Being an avid lover of both music and fashion, I tried to reflect the vibes of the music in my look. I wore a loose and flowy denim blue dress with a triangle cut out and thin straps on the neckline which is accentuated with a pop of burnt orange color in my bralette. The varied lengths on the bottom of the dress looked wicked while I was dancing about and allowed me to not get overheated. On my legs I wore scrunched down oatmeal colored thigh highs and practical hiking boots; a decision I was forever grateful for because the terrain was muddy and messy. I kept my accessories simple, a stack of bracelets on one wrist, a thin choker, a straw hat, and funky sunglasses which contrasted the hat and look in a complimentary manner. The bag I brought was a small/medium coin and bead covered cross body from Free People where I held my necessities.

THE MOMENT OF TRUTH…THE MUSIC

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Marina and the Diamonds, possibly the biggest attraction on Day 2, played some other hits from Electra Heart and mixed them with songs from her latest album Froot. Her performance was one of the more crowded and I was happy to be about 20 people deep in the crowd as everyone danced and sang along to her catchy alternative pop lyrics while marveling at her stage presence, which was bigger then the huge blow up pieces of fruit on stage.

Another memorable performance was undoubtedly Flume where I was positioned about five people away from the stage. Although he’s a single man with some laptop equipment, the LED lights, spotlights, and animated screen which synchronized with the pulsing beats made the experience larger than life. His set was right as the sun was going down so as the darkness ensued, the performance became more and more intense.

All the artists were amazing but Kate Tempest’s gritty lyrics made my arm hair stand on end, and Charolatte OC’s voice was stunning. Overall the entire experience from the restaurant grade food at a reasonable price, to the people I met, to the fashion and music, was an experience that has me wishing to relive it again.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Follow me on Instagram ! or follow the blogs for updates

With love,

Anna-Jean

Leave a Reply

